Day 2: What’s really standing between you and happiness?

You guessed it! (Or did you?) The only thing standing between you and pure, blissful happiness is you.

(Yesterday’s prompt sucked and this was on my mind today, so just count this as Day 2/361, okay? No judgement.)

Job security, socio-economic class, relationship status, education and a million other factors have been proven, time and time again, to make or break one’s happiness meter. But let’s look at the common denominator for a second. What do all of these things have in common?

Oh yeah. You. You, yourself and…you.

You get the point, right? Okay, let’s move on.

Someone who has more money than they can count, a beautiful family and a dream job could still be unhappy. Likewise, someone who’s living paycheck to paycheck and doesn’t have a family or significant other or even a cat could be the happiest clam in the ocean. So, what is it about ourselves that makes it so easy to be miserable?

I’ve been thinking about happiness and attitude a lot lately. Not because I’m necessarily unhappy, but because I don’t feel fulfilled like I used to. After some soul searching, I’ve realized that, although there are outside circumstances that I can’t control, there are so many more internal circumstances that I can control.

Being strong and validated comes from understanding and accepting who you are. At one point in my life, I swear that I was a confident, eager young woman. I knew exactly what I wanted and I was not only prepared but also willing to do whatever it took to get it.

Somewhere along the way, I lost myself. And I guess that’s probably a pretty average confession for twenty-something. I didn’t lose my values or my aspirations. No, I lost my demeanor (for lack of a better term). I lost the wide-eyed, bring-it-on attitude that I so fervently faced the world with before.

I’m not sure what I’m going to do to get myself back. I’m not sure how to erase the insecurities that I’ve allowed to burrow into my soul. But I am sure that it’s time for a change. It’s time to begin believing in myself again, the way I used to.

It’s time to let myself be genuinely, truly happy again.

Leave a Reply

