A glass of wine and a dose of adulthood

So, it’s Day 14… And I’ve definitely only written through Day 3.

I suck. I know.

My life has been a crazy whirlwind lately and (insert excuse here).

However, I did recently turn in my notice at a job that has been causing me a lot of stress and unhappiness for one that is exactly in line with my original career path. That’s stressful, right? I haven’t started my new job yet, but I’m excited and terrified for the opportunity. Will I be in over my head and potentially ruin everything? There’s always that chance. But it’s time to dive in and start living my life. I’ve been huddled in a safe bubble of familiarity for so long that I have lost myself completely.

Meanwhile, I’m sitting at home with a glass of wine, reading beautiful words written by beautiful people across the globe. It’s intimidating to me that so many people have such a wealth of talent. Maybe because it makes me feel utterly inadequate.

Which, by the way, is something that I’ve been feeling a lot lately. There haven’t been any particular reasons or triggers — I think we all go through it at some point. Trying to find my footing in the professional world of adults is trickier than I thought. Especially because, to be honest, I have no desire to be an adult. I have no desire to take on the responsibilities and heartache that come with adulthood; the responsibilities and heartache of being a twenty-something are bad enough.

During a particularly rough lunch break, I had clicked to watch a video on YouTube and this ad popped up:

For the first time in, like, ever, I sat and watched the entire ad. The importance of the words, despite whatever product they’re selling and whatever goal they’re hoping to achieve, resonated with me. The next time you look in the mirror (and I promise I’ll try to do the same) and see all of your imperfections and insecurities laid out painfully in front of you, remind yourself that you’re more than just pretty or just smart, that you’re more than whatever labels the world has put on you — or that you have put on yourself.

It’s time to stop letting the world break you down.

Leave a Reply

